Simon Middle School Band

Private Lessons


Private Lessons are offered through the Simon Band Program and are available to every band student. The lesson staff includes educators that are hand-picked by the directors. Students benefit from weekly one-on-one instruction and the private teacher is able to design a program that meets individual student needs. This allows each student to progress at his/her own rate and ability. Professional teachers on each instrument are able to teach these lessons during band class and before or after school. Much of the success throughout the SMS Band Program can be attributed to the private lesson program and the superior private lesson staff. The number of students enrolled in the program at Simon Middle School has allowed a high standard of performance to be maintained. Supplemental lessons are not required, but are strongly recommended.


Why take private lessons?


You can learn more about the instrument you play, move faster than the classroom environment, learn more music, and have the chance to learn from a professional musician. 


Please complete this confidential survey to get started in our lesson program: 


Simon Middle School Lesson Form


If you are interested in your student taking private lessons, you may also contact one of our private lesson teachers directly.


Flute 

Stephanie Fisher - stephanie_fisher@live.com

Stephanie Garcia - syg9@txstate.edu


Oboe

Jennifer Sanford - jennifer.sanford@hayscisd.net

Ruby Oliva - olivart13@gmail.com


Bassoon

Elaina Walzel - emw62@txstate.edu


Clarinet

Philip May - philipandrewmay@gmail.com

Sara Mietelka - saramietelka@yahoo.com


Saxophone

Dustin Hunter - hunterdj92@gmail.com


Trumpet

Mark Slater - highcs@walipapa.com

Matt Aguayo - mattfbf@yahoo.com


French Horn

Luis Torres - horn133937@gmail.com


Trombone

Patrick Montgomery - pmontgomery.trombone@gmail.com


Euphonium/Tuba

Matthew Holzner - mholzner@gmail.com


Percussion

Ziggy Santana - ziggy@phatsoundsmedia.com


If you wish to become a part of our Private Teaching Staff, please contact our lessons coordinator Jacob Gross at jacob.gross@hayscisd.net